22 May Weavers

WeaversArms-150x150The Weavers, incorporated before 1222, belong to the oldest tradesman’s guild within the Seven Incorporated Trades of Aberdeen and were at the centre of commercial life in the burgh from those early days.

With a distinctive crest featuring the weaver’s shuttle, the craft forged an identity within the trades and together with the fullers – or dyers and listers – embraced the organisation’s principles. With strict regulation from authorities on the quality and price of members’ work, the standards of the Aberdeen weavers seldom wavered and were upheld by dedicated members.

Encroachments from tradesmen in neighbouring areas were frequently fought off through the promotion of the ethos which has served the Seven Incorporated Trades of Aberdeen for centuries.

Current Role of Members and Date Joined:

Ian W. Logan 1974   Frank J. Coutts 1993   Adam P. Byrne 2010
Alan E. Morrice 1974   Alistair F. M. Hutcheson 1993   George C. C. Henderson 2010
Graeme D. Nicol 1978   Christopher D. MacBride 1994   Neil A. Armour 2014
Ronald Taylor 1978   Ian Thomson 1994   Peter Murray 2017
Andrew Anderson 1988   Ian L. Dale 1996      
Alexander Wiseman 1989   Stuart D. MacBride 1998      
George M. Esson 1991   Martin B. Wiseman 2003      
Stuart C. MacBride 1991   David N. K. Henderson 2004      

Career Enhancement Award – J Gray Kilgour Medal

The J Kilgour medal was presented to the Trades by a former Deacon whose family business Kilgour & Walker was synonymous with the Weaving industry in Aberdeen.  Kilgore and Walker started trading in the 1800s and continued through until the 1950s with sites throughout the city, the main factory being in Berryden Road, Aberdeen.  The company specialised in providing items of clothing and gloves for the Fishing, Farming and Granite industry.   Mr Kilgour was especially keen to promote apprenticeships in his industry and develop working skills.
The Career Enhancement Award has been awarded, along with a bursary,  since 1997, with the addition of the J Gray Kilgour medal in 2002.

Sarah Marie Potter 1998   Anna Thom 2010
Angela Buchan 1999   Matt Russell 2011
Morag Mitchell 2000   Matt Russell 2012
Eva Oxberry 2001   Karen Runthal 2013
Nadia Ainsue 2002   Michelle Hay 2014
Mark Chitty 2003   Joanna O’Brien 2015
Alison Whewell 2004   Kirsty Brownlee 2016
Ritta Nikkonen 2005   Katrina Lindsay 2017 
Jenny Lardell 2006      
Joanne Kerr 2007      
Irna Boutkan-Beumer 2008      
Ingrid Garrioch 2009